Gas Works Park

Today marked my first free day in Seattle. I’d made at least one trip between Vancouver and Seattle each of the previous three weekends and was in no mood to spend another 3+ hours in my car.

So I stayed closer to home, which, in case you hadn’t heard, is in Seattle now. (It still feels weird to think of myself as a Seattle resident. Weird and awesome.)

“Sleeping in” has meant 6:30 lately, so I was up and out of the house by 7 for a quick trip over to tiny Kerry Park on Queen Anne Hill. Pro tip for all photographers: Kerry Park offers the quintessential Seattle view if you’re looking for a nice shot. There’s the downtown skyline, Space Needle, and Elliott Bay — all of it seemingly close enough to touch. See?

A few hours later, I headed to Dick’s Drive-In for lunch. (Go ahead and make a joke or two, I won’t mind. I’ll wait.)

Dick’s, in case you hadn’t heard, is a bit of a Seattle institution. It’s been around since the 1950s and offers, as my coworker put it, “the best bad burger in Seattle.” (That’s opposed to the best good burger, which he says can be found at Red Mill. But I digress.) There’s no seating, inside or out. You walk up to the window, order, get your food, and eat in your car (or on a nearby bench, if one’s available).

Dick’s offers a pretty straightforward menu of three burgers, fries, milkshakes, and soda. That’s it. Additional condiments, such as ketchup, mustard, and onions, are a nickel apiece. A filling meal won’t run more than $6-$7, tops. It’s worth every penny, though; I devoured my burger and wanted another (but restraint won the day). It was just a solid, no-frills burger, and I’m just the tiniest bit nervous that it’s only a 15-minute walk from work.

Then again, if I’m walking a half hour for lunch … that’s totally okay, right? (Again, with the digressions!)

Post-lunch, it was time for a little relaxation. It was time for Gas Works Park.

Gas Works Park is a pretty awesome park in the midst of Seattle, and it comes with a unique background. The story goes like this: More than a century ago, a gasification plant was erected on the north shore of Lake Union. It survived until the mid-1950s and was eventually converted into a park, which incorporates some of the plant’s remnants.

The park has become a landmark and today serves many purposes. In my time there, I spotted a magician performing tricks illusions for children, a parkour class, some bicyclists taking a break, a few families flying kites, and couples canoodling on the park’s slopes.

Me? I chilled. I brought a book and read for a spell. When I grew tired of that, I explored the park and all the fancy structures. When I grew tired of that, I laid down and admired the views of Eastlake, South Lake Union, the downtown skyline, and Queen Anne Hill. When I grew tired of that … well … who could ever get tired of this view?

That was it for today’s adventure. I came home, made dinner, and went for a run around South Lake Union, wrapping up a long and exciting day. It was a fun first Saturday in Seattle, and I was so thankful for the gorgeous weather. I know about my city’s rainy reputation and am savoring every second of this sunshine. Life’s too short to do anything but.

2 responses to “Gas Works Park

  1. I like the photo of the Gas Works Park. It’s really got that Steampunk thing going for it. 🙂 Sounds like had a fun filled day from start to finish.

    • Thanks so much! It was pretty fun, and the park definitely has a unique vibe with all of these old plant remnants hanging out.

Leave a Reply

