Super Saturday

After playing tourist last weekend, I wanted to get off the beaten path and do as the locals do.

Naturally, I wound up at the foot of the Space Needle.

Click through for a photo tour of my busy day.

Not going to lie: The top edges of the sign at the bottom of this image bother me. That’s the only thing I don’t like about this photo.

I’ve long been fascinated by the Space Needle. I’ve wanted to visit pretty much every time I’ve been in Seattle for years now, and I gawk whenever I’m in its presence. Some have said the views aren’t worth the arm-and-leg admission, but I would disagree. I could have spent all day up there.

You can see my office and my apartment in this photo.

If you can look at this and tell me it’s not worth the price of admission, I don’t know what to tell you. I really don’t.

The EMP Museum was next! I took a few photos before going in; I think I might contact Microsoft and see if they might be interested in this shot for a future Windows desktop photo possibility. I feel like this is a pretty original shot.

This is a crazy sculpture made entirely of instruments at the EMP Museum.

Honestly, I wanted to like the museum more than I did. Some exhibits were fascinating in their depth, and others were frustrating in their brevity. The Sky Church video screen is gorgeous. Overall, I guess I just wanted more on the history of pop/rock music.

Blue trees in downtown Seattle!

You won’t find a bigger fan of aquariums, but this left me underwhelmed. There wasn’t much to it, though I respect the emphasis on conversation. Sea otters win the day, though. They always do.

I ended the day at the Pacific Science Center, where I caught “The Dark Knight Rises” on the museum’s GIANT FREAKING IMAX SCREEN™. (I’m pretty sure that’s the official name, by the way.) Believe me, you haven’t seen “The Dark Knight Rises” until you’ve seen it on a GIANT FREAKING IMAX SCREEN™. (I see you, Cinetopia, and you’re a pretender to the throne, as far as I’m concerned.) Just jaw-dropping. Spectacular. Gorgeous. Engrossing. And so on.

So I might have just lied: I actually ended the day back at the Space Needle — thanks, City Pass! — where I took in the city all alight. No photos, though; I didn’t want to use flash, and my camera didn’t play nice. It was a stunning bookend to a memorable day.

2 responses to “Super Saturday

  1. That’s a great lot of awesome photos. Even if Microsoft doesn’t take you up on your idea it would still make great screensavers for your own personal use. I really liked the tower of musical instruments. It always surprises me what people come up with when they create art.

    • Thanks for the comment!

      Truth is, the Microsoft crack was a too-subtle attempt at sarcasm; a very similar image is already my computer desktop photo. It was the default image with my laptop, and I’ve kept it that way ever since. But thanks just the same. 🙂

      And I agree; that tower was pretty incredible. It fit together so well, I was in total awe.

Leave a Reply

